Annual Meeting of the City Council

Friday 18 May 2012

PRESENT:

The Lord Mayor, Mr Brookshaw, in the Chair.

The Deputy Lord Mayor, Mr Delbridge, Vice Chair.

Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Mrs Beer, Bowie, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Browne, Casey, Churchill, Coker, Damarell, Darcy, Philippa Davey, Sam Davey, Mrs Dolan, Drean, Evans, K Foster, Mrs Foster, Fox, Fry, Gordon, Haydon, James, Jarvis, Jordan, Lowry, Dr. Mahony, McDonald, Monahan, Murphy, Mrs Nelder, Nicholson, Mrs Nicholson, Parker, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Ricketts, Dr. Salter, Singh (Deputy Lord Mayor subsequently), John Smith, Peter Smith, Stark, Stevens, Jon Taylor, Kate Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Wheeler, Wigens, Williams and Wright (Lord Mayor subsequently).

Apologies for absence: Councillors Martin Leaves, Michael Leaves and Sam Leaves

The meeting started at 10.30 am and finished at 11.30 am.

Note: At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

1. TO ELECT THE LORD MAYOR AND DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE PERIOD UP TO THE NEXT ANNUAL MEETING

Agreed that Councillor Michael Wright is elected Lord Mayor and Councillor Chaz Singh is elected Deputy Lord Mayor of the city for the ensuing year.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR AND DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Agreed that -

- the Council accords to Mr Peter Brookshaw the sincere thanks of the Citizens of Plymouth for the invaluable services he has rendered to the City as Lord Mayor since May 2011, and for the able manner in which he has presided over the deliberations of the Council during that period;
- (2) the Council also expresses its indebtedness to Mr Edward Delbridge for his diligent and efficient discharge of the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor, and to Mrs Brenda Brookshaw as the Lady Mayoress, and Councillor Mrs Lynda Bowyer as the Deputy Lady Mayoress, who have supported them during their year of office.

3. TO ELECT THE LEADER

Agreed that Councillor Evans is elected Leader of the City Council.

4. TO NOTE THE MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET

The Council received the report of the Council Leader (Councillor Evans) which advised that the Cabinet would comprise the following Members –

Portfolio	Member
Deputy Leader	Councillor Peter Smith
Public Health and Adult Social Care	Councillor Sue McDonald
Finance	Councillor Mark Lowry
Children and Young People	Councillor Nicky Williams
Environment	Councillor Brian Vincent
Cooperatives and Community Development	Councillor Chris Penberthy
Transport	Councillor Mark Coker

Agreed that the membership of Cabinet is noted.

5. TO AGREE COMMITTEES AND THEIR MEMBERS AND APPOINT CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS

A schedule of the nominations to committees, joint committees, panels etc was submitted.

Agreed that -

- (1) approval is given to the appointments to committees, joint committees, panels etc and their chairs and vice chairs for the transaction of the business of the Council until the next Annual Meeting as set out in the list circulated;
- (2) three Conservative group appointments to the Lord Mayor Selection Committee and five Labour group nominated substitutes for the Overview and Scrutiny Management Board are deferred;
- (3) the vice chair of the Overview and Scrutiny Management Board will be appointed at the first meeting of the board.

6. TO NOMINATE OR APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BODIES

A schedule of the nominations to outside bodies was submitted.

Agreed that -

(I) approval is given to the appointments and nominations of councillors and others as representatives on outside bodies as indicated;

- (2) the following vacancies are deferred
 - Ballard Trust one Conservative group representative
 - Devon and Severn Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority – one councillor and one substitute
 - Plymouth City Centre Company one officer
 - South West Grid for Learning one officer

7. **DESIGNATION OF HEAD OF PAID SERVICE**

The Chief Executive submitted a written report on a proposal to appoint an interim Chief Executive pending an appointment to the role on a permanent basis. The report also considered the delegation of the statutory roles relating to electoral registration, elections and referenda.

Agreed -

- (1) the appointment of Bob Coomber as interim Chief Executive with effect from 24 May 2012, pending an appointment to the role on a permanent basis through the recruitment and selection process which is already underway;
- (2) to delegate to the Director for Corporate Services authority to agree the terms for the engagement of the interim Chief Executive in consultation with the Council Leader:
- (3) that the interim Chief Executive is designated as the head of paid service in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 for the duration of the interim arrangement;
- (4) to appoint the Monitoring Officer as the electoral registration officer and returning officer under the Representation of the People Act 1983.

8. RETIREMENT OF BARRY KEEL, CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Lord Mayor paid tribute to Barry Keel who was leaving the Council today after seven years as Chief Executive. The Lord Mayor expressed regret that at his departure and also thanked his wife, Angela, for all the time that Mr Keel had spent supporting the Council out of hours.

On behalf of the Council, the Lord Mayor thanked Mr Keel for his services to Plymouth and wished both him and his wife well for the future.